It’s currently 9pm in Hawaii and everyone else in my family (all 12 of them) are asleep, but because I’m a college student and dead week and finals completely changed my sleep schedule (and not to mention the few days of break I’ve had) there is no way I’m going to bed now. Which is perfectly fine with me because it finally gives me time to get some thoughts onto some metaphorical paper.

With the closing of 2010, it’s only natural to think about what has happened in the whirlwind of 12 months that are now almost completely behind us. I’ve always been kind of a sentimental guy; no clue why, but I am. 2010 was one of the craziest years of my life, which seems just about right for where I am in life. I mean, I’m 21 now, shouldn’t life start to get kind of crazy? As much as parts of it hurt, the healing that took place, and the ways that it took place made this year one of my favorites.

There is no doubt in my mind that God used 2010 to pull me closer to him and help me refocus my life. For the first time in my life I’m really not sure where I want to take my career. I do know that I’m ok with that. I figure it will all play out in front of me pretty soon, and I’ve got to know that God is in charge of that.

I think the biggest thing I’ve learned in 2010 is just how blessed I am to have the friends that I have. A good amount of my closest friends weren’t really my friends until February. 10 months and I already can’t imagine life without them. Sometimes people just come along and they push you in all the right ways and they provide something that you really need in your life. I was lucky enough to have several of them come into my life. I owe a lot to these friends and I hope that they understand just how much they mean to me. It’s my goal to treat them in such a way that they will always know that. I’m really looking forward to growing my friendships in 2011.

As far as 2011 is concerned, I’m looking forward to doing something big. I don’t know what that really means, but I feel like it is out there for me. I’ve tossed around a few ideas with some people and I think there is an opportunity out there. I’ve found myself drawing inspiration from Jamie Tworkowski (found of To Write Love on Her Arms), Jon Foreman (lead singer of Switchfoot) and Donald Miller (author of ‘Blue Like Jazz’) recently. They are all people who have accomplished great things but they are transparent that they are human; they have vices and struggles. I just want to continue to grow and make an impact on those around me.

I might get around to posting a “my favorites of 2010” post, but then again I’m not sure many people actually care. If anything it will give me something to do when everyone else is asleep. I hope that you have a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year. Know that you are loved.

