Well, this is very late. It was a busy month, which is to be expected of June. Finally got into the swing of summer and everything that entails. So June’s choices reflect summer and just some good music to accompany it. Some old, some new. Enjoy!

  • “Hands Down” – Dashboard Confessional: A classic summer song. This song is especially great for when you have four other guys in your car, all the windows (and sunroof) rolled down and lots of other cars around you. Needless to say, you’ve just got to belt this song when it comes on. It’s a requirement. (On a side note, if you’re looking for a pure summer album then listen to “Dusk and Summer” by Dashboard. It’s perfect).
  • “Konstantine” – Something Corporate: Another oldie for me. I fell in love with this song early in high school but I rediscovered that love this summer. It is such a beautiful song, both lyrically and musically. Plus, it’s an almost ten minute epic which for me means that I get invested in the song. Every time I listen I suddenly feel like I need to find my own Konstantine. It’ll happen someday. And I will love that day.
  • “The Prayer” – Kid Cudi: I’m starting to listen to more and more rap these days. I can’t really say why, but it’s not that bad. Cudi samples the music from “The Funeral” by Band of Horses (feature in the first ever MotM) in this track and creates a unique rap song that really sticks out from any other song. It’s a mix of deep, intellectual thoughts and great one liners.
  • “Love Lost” – Temper Trap: I’ll admit it, I hadn’t listened to Temper Trap before seeing 500 Days of Summer last year. Now, I freaking love them. They are just a great low-key blisswave listen. Their sound is really unique and this song is a great showcase of their talents.
  • “Wavin’ Flag” – K’naan: Like many of you, I caught World Cup Fever this month. Last world cup I was in Europe, more specifically in France when France beat Brazil, and the passion that I saw while I was there completely turned me onto international soccer. So this year I was all in. This song is the theme for the World Cup and for the Coke commercials. It’s got a great feel and is just a fun song.
  • “Bangers, Beans, and Mash” – Infant Sorrow: This is from the Get Him to the Greek soundtrack. If you haven’t seen the movie then go see it now! It is one of the funniest movies I have ever seen and one of the main reasons why are the songs that were created. The songs gave the characters great depth and still leave me laughing every time I listen to them. Also, Jason Segel wrote this one, so it has to be golden.

Let me know what I missed! I’d love to get the comments up on this. Thanks for stopping by!

