In the past few days I’ve been slowly coming to a realization, and I don’t mean to make this sound over dramatic or anything like that. I’m simply relaying what I’m figuring out.

For years I went to church, Sunday School, youth group and what not. I loved it (for the most part). I met most of the people who have shaped me into who I am while at a church function. I was learning about my faith at that time, but I wasn’t really taking an active part in determining what exactly I believed. I was just accepting most of what was being presented to me by youth pastors and head pastors. It’s not even that I was being lead astray by corrupted leaders or anything like that. I simply wasn’t making conscious decisions about my faith.

Music has always helped me discover new things. And while I don’t listen to a lot of completely overt “Christian” music, I do listen to a lot of music with religious undertones. On Sunday night, two of my friends (@craig_nash and @MarkBingham) convinced me to download Derek Webb’s newest CD, “Stockholm Syndrome.” The album is great and the song “What Matters Most” has really helped me realized what I’ve been starting to think about my faith. That simply, Love matters most. I don’t really have much more to say about that but I think that this is just the first step in my journey to owning my faith. For now, that’s all I have to say on this topic and I think that is ok. After all, this is a journey. Thanks for stopping by.

Derek Webb's "Stockholm Syndrome"

Derek Webb's "Stockholm Syndrome"

